I wonder if you’ve heard this song….. It’s called ‘This is the stuff’ by Francesca Battistelli. Here’s the chorus…..

This is the stuff that drives me crazy
This is the stuff that’s getting to me lately
In the middle of my little mess
I forget how big I’m blessed
This is the stuff that gets under my skin
But I gotta trust You know exactly what You’re doing
It might not be what I would choose
But this is the stuff You use

This chorus has been popping up in my head over the last few months and each time i hear it – then its stuck there for days!

I first heard it when we were packing up in Croydon and juggling a million things at once. Then when we were on the Gold Coast it was on the radio again as we tried to navigate unfamiliar streets and peak hour traffic. And just this week i heard it again.

This song reminds me to keep perspective in the crazy moments.

Let me give you a little insight into our days at the moment. Jason is gone for about 12 hours each day. He leaves at 6.30 am and gets home about 6.30pm as they have about an hour travel to the airport where they are based. So for Sam and i that means a 5.30am start, a grumpy little man because his routine is no longer working and a tired mum who has been known to fall asleep on the couch at about 8pm each night. In such circumstances, perspective can get lost. So I’m thankful for this song and Isaiah 55:8-11 than give me that needed reality check.

8For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
   neither are your ways my ways,”
            declares the LORD.
9 “As the heavens are higher than the earth,
   so are my ways higher than your ways
   and my thoughts than your thoughts.
10 As the rain and the snow
   come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
   without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
   so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,
11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
   It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
   and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”

