I thought it’s about time to share of my new found love… fishing.  Yes, after a rather successful day of catching a Mud crab on my fishing line, a small bream and another fish that I’m still looking for a name of. If anybody knows the name of this species, please do tell, I can’t find it anywhere on the internet.  We ate the crab and the Bream for lunch which was a new, novel experience for us both. Lots of work to eat the crab, I must say, it’s not something you should eat if you ar

e starving!  The crab was 17cm across the carapace and weighed 900g.

Since there’s not a whole lot to do in Numbulwar and the weather is nice to be outdoors most of the year, I have decided to give fishing a go.  It’s a good way to get to know the locals as well.  It’s a good ice breaker in situations where the difference in culture make it difficult to get to know people otherwise. Fishing is a big part of their lives.  Their favourites are Dugong and sea Turtle.  The remains of which attract the crocs at night.. one of the local guys said he saw 4 crocs fighting over a turtle shell at night down at the barge landing! Kim’s not keen on me fishing at night for some reason. Don’t know why.

The rod I am using was left in the house here by the last guy who lived here (thanks James) who found it at the tip (known locally as “Mitre 11”).  I have some more gear coming down that I bought off of people who are leaving for PNG, so I’m looking forward to that arriving.

Please pray that I might be able to make good friendships with the locals through fishing.

