Stopping for a week in Cairns before returning to Arnhem Land has given us a chance to reflect on life as we know it. One thing I’ve realised is how much I enjoyed our two weeks of holidays in Victoria. Here’s why…

I have loved not having to cook! Most of the time I enjoy cooking, but it felt so nice to enjoy the luxury of take away, restaurants and having Mum cook for us. Perhaps the thing I miss most living in Numbulwar is not having the choice to let someone else cook for me on the evening of a crazy day. (Jason does cook on a Sunday to give me a day off, but if a day has been a little full on, it will often mean that he is away for a night or won’t be home early enough to take over.)

I loved seeing my family enjoy Sam at his current stage of cuteness. One of the things Jason and I hate about our work here in Arnhem Land is that our families miss out on so much of Sam’s life. Thanks to Skype, Sam was a little familiar with his Victorian family but it warmed my heart to hear him calling them Nana, Pa and JoJo at the appropriate moments. We created some wonderful family memories in the last two weeks: exploring the zoo with Uncle Luke, babycinos with Nana and Papa, watching penguins with Pa, driving the car with JoJo, playing the organ with Pa, reading stories with Nanny, playing with the IPAD cat with Mike and Aaron…

We loved seeing Sam discover the world outside Arnhem Land. Excited ‘Ooooooh’s were frequently heard on this trip from Sam. Electric doors, escalators, trams, trucks, trains, motorbikes, aeroplanes of various sizes, the green man on the traffic light and playgrounds were just a few of the causes of this reaction. This holiday has been a little like a visit to Alice’s wonderland for Sam so many new and exciting things to discover. We enjoyed sharing these new discoveries with him.

I could write more about our joys … about the joy of church in your own language, church with crèche for kids, green soft grass, daffodils, shops, fruit and vegetable sections of the supermarket that make my mouth water, mountains, real milk (not UHT), but I won’t bore you with more. I’m just so thankful for this holiday and a chance to enjoy these simple joys again for just a little while.

