As a pilot, what should you expect of your day ahead knowing you spent a good 20 mins in an office that has been cursed? 

This morning I walked over to the office to start the day, then got a phone call from Kim saying that there’s people at the house wanting to pay for a flight.  But they won’t come to the office because it has been cursed. Okay, I needed to do some unfinished business at home anyway, so I went home and made the booking and took the money, then headed back to the office.  I didn’t take much notice of the cursing business, you hear of it a lot here. But I noticed an unusual amount of office people sitting around the tables outside.  I asked the Shire Manager why everyone was sitting outside and he said that they won’t go in because the building has been cursed.  The curse is lifted by the burning of a small amount of dry grass outside the doors, apparently it smokes the spirits out or something to that effect. 

But I drove off to the airport wondering… how do I as a Christian deal with this situation? Will being in a building that was cursed affect the rest of my day?  And working in a high risk job, what can I expect from my day? Will it be like flying on Friday the 13th?  Is it all just superstition? No, I believe wholeheartedly in the spiritual world. So can I just shrug it off knowing that “greater is He that is in me is greater than he that is in the world”? Or applying Paul’s rationale of 1 Corinthians 8 (food offered to idols) and thinking that this doesn’t effect me because I have Christ living in me?  But this last question is more about tripping up weak conscience Christians, so will entering a cursed building be a stumbling block for new believers? Or should I go in, expecting people to see that they can be free of spiritual burdens?  Or will it offend people when they see us paying no heed to their beliefs? 

Well okay, I didn’t think up all these questions on the way to the airport, only the first half.  Truth is, I went in there unwittingly (it was morning and I was focused on the first flight, gimme a break), but drove off thinking about the idols passage in 1 Corinthians (even if it was out of context).  I don’t have the answers to these questions, but I am still here to write about my day.  Although I did get some peanut butter on my pants while I was eating lunch, which is unlike me…. Hmm…

