Song of Solomon 2: 10-13
My beloved spoke and said to me,
    “Arise, my darling,
    my beautiful one, come with me.
See! The winter is past;
    the rains are over and gone.
Flowers appear on the earth;
    the season of singing has come,
the cooing of doves
    is heard in our land.
The fig tree forms its early fruit;
    the blossoming vines spread their fragrance.
Arise, come, my darling;
    my beautiful one, come with me.”

P1040689

Church yesterday on Elcho Island was a great time of sharing testimonies. It was unusual to have church without singing, or maybe we got there too late and missed it. But the pastor encouraged those in attendance to share something from their lives to encourage others.

Several ladies spoke of a recent church rally in Gan Gan, that MAF was able to fly them to. The pastor spoke, and another lady read the verse above. She used the current season, one where flowers are appearing and mangoes are ripening, as a metaphor to encourage the church to make the most of every opportunity to share God’s love with others.

I didn’t catch all of what she said, i don’t understand most of what is said in language yet, but i love the passion, the expressions and determination that that is evident on their faces as they shared their testimonies of God’s goodness and help. I wanted to take photos of their intensity and their desire to express their hearts to the others gathered. But i refrained… i didn’t want to kill a special moment by looking like a tourist!

Instead, i did sneak a picture of this lady’s feet.P1050191

The whole time she was speaking, the verse from Isaiah 52:7 kept echoing in my mind.

“How beautiful on the mountains
    are the feet of those who bring good news,
who proclaim peace,
    who bring good tidings,
    who proclaim salvation,
who say to Zion,
    “Your God reigns!”

How beautiful it is to see our indigenous brothers and sisters speaking words of encouragement and testimony to the wider church!